CBSE CLASS 11 Philosophy SYLLABUS 2015-16 CBSE

CBSE Class 11 philosophy Syllabus of 2015-16 SA1-SA2

This includes both Term 1 and Term 2 philosophy syllabus for Class 11.

Course Structure

Both Terms

Unit Topic  Marks
1 Indian Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology) 20
2 Western Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology) 20
3 Principles of Reasoning (Logic) 60
Total 100

Unit 1: Indian Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology)

  • (i) Classification of Indian philosophical systems
  • (ii) Six ways of knowing in Indian Philosophy
  • (iii) Nyaya definition of perception and distinction between determinate and indeterminate perception
  • (iv) Buddhist view on indeterminate perception
  • (v) Nyaya view on inference (Nyaya): Vyapti, tarka, and kinds of Anumana
  • (vi) Carvaka’s critique of inference

Unit 2: Western Theories of Knowledge (Epistemology)

  • (vii) Rationalism: Descartes on universal and certain knowledge, Method of doubt
  • (viii) Empiricism: Locke on rejection of innate ideas, origin of ideas,kinds of knowledge
  • (ix) Hume – Impressions and Ideas, Kinds of knowledge, skepticism (causation, self)
  • (x) Kant: Synthetic a priori knowledge

Unit 3: Principles of Reasoning (Logic)

(A) Aristotelian Logic

  • (xi) The nature and subject-matter of logic
  • (xii) Terms, sentences, propositions, truth and validity
  • (xiii) Relations between propositions – square of opposition
  • (xiv) Changing sentences into their logical form
  • (xv) Categorical syllogism

(B) Symbolic Logic

  • (xvi) Value of use of symbols, symbolization, variable and constant
  • (xvii) Truth function and truth-functional connectives, Truth Table

(C) Inductive Reasoning

  • (xviii) Mill’s Methods of Experimental Inquiry
Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.